View this email in a browser

EAT MY SHORTS Film Competition Winners Announced!

Each year Just For Laughs selects some of the top comedic short films from around the world to screen in our signature short film competition, Eat My Shorts. The finalists are screened during the Just For Laughs festival and winners are selected at the end of the screening for the top three prizes. This year, instead of 2nd and 3rd place winners, we had a tie for 2nd place!

Judging this year’s competition were Carly McGowan (Manager, Independent Production Fund), Jonathan Stern (Founder, Abominable Pictures), and Spencer Griffin (Head of TV Development, Just for Laughs).

1st Place 

CAROLINE LINDY for Aspirational Slut - A newly heartbroken woman, on the advice of a pizza guy, learns to separate love from sex, and over a series of wild random hookups, she learns to put them back together.

Tied for 2nd Place 

MIKE DOXFORD for Non-Negotiable - Nine year old Deb presents to her anxious parents a list of terms and conditions for the arrival of her new sibling.


RYLEE JEAN EBSEN for Boomerang - After losing her job, a flailing millennial is forced to move back into her childhood bedroom and navigate life with her dysfunctional parents. Determined to take on a lover, she re-connects with a middle school crush.

Meet the Winners!


Caroline Lindy won a grant in 2019 from Women in Film to write/direct a short, Your Monster, now being developed into a feature by Sharon Horgan's Merman Productions. She was a recent finalist in the Tribeca/CHANEL Women's Filmmaker Program, and she is a freelance commercial director in LA. Her new film, Aspirational Slut, is a hyper-sexual romantic comedy that won the Audience Award at SXSW.

Tied in 2nd Place


Mike Doxford is an award-winning filmmaker from Somerset. Mike made his feature debut with PLEASURE ISLAND, nominated for Best Film at the East End Film Festival. He also directs documentaries and is currently making a film about vital reform to the orphanage system.



Rylee Jean Ebsen is a Forbes 30 Under 30, Telly Award winning, comedy director and writer. She's currently in the DGA's Episodic TV Program 2022 which pairs seasoned TV directors with protégés for one year in order to help them land their first episode. As a successful commercial director, She's directed projects for some of the world’s largest brands, including Kellogg's, Disney, Facebook, State Farm, Amazon, Snapchat, Dr Pepper, ESPN, Zillow, and Google. She’s worked with numerous high-profile talent and comedians including Seth McFarland, Ben Schwartz, Tom Felton, Nicholas Braun, Brittany Snow, Alfonso Ribeiro, James Marsden, Sky Katz, Sherry Cola, Zuri Adele, Jay Williams, Doris Burke and Iliza Shlesinger. Storytelling is in her DNA, she’s the granddaughter of Hollywood actor Buddy Ebsen and comedian/advertising director Stan Freberg. Rylee is a graduate of NYU Tisch Film & TV and studied improv, character, and sketch at The Groundlings. US Reps, Tool of North America. UK Reps, Kode, Canada Reps, Steam Films. PR, Jordyn Palos at Persona PR and Rob Fleming at Prodigy.

Congratulations to all the finalists!

This year's selection of exciting shorts ranged from bizarre food attachments, crime and sci-fi comedies, living through Covid times, unique relationships, and everything in between!

Congratulations to all the finalists of this year's Eat My Shorts!

Snooze, director Adam Collins (Ireland)
Sleepover Mom, directors Sarah Tollemache and Drew Jordan (USA)
Aspirational Slut, director Caroline Lindy (USA)
Get Happy, directors Patrick Andrews and Ben Weinberg (Canada)
Quarantine Fling, director Milo Shandel (Canada)
Coleslaw, directors Paris Brown and Heather McKinney (USA)
Boomerang, director Rylee Jean Ebsen (USA)
Julia, director Jack Donnelly (UK)
FUBU, directors Daniel Kay, Jonathan Dubsky (Canada)
My First Native American Boyfriend, director Joey Clift (USA)
Burder, director Charlie Hankin (USA)
I’m Not A Robot, director Jason Speir (Canada)
Non-Negotiable, director Mike Doxford (UK)
Poker Night, director Dana Fradkin and Mark Clearview (Canada)

In case you missed it, check out all the participants at this years ComedyPRO by visiting https://comedypro.hahaha.com/en/pitches

Sent on: *|DATE:Y/m/d|*
2101 St-Laurent blvd, Montreal, Quebec, H2X 2T5
To unsubscribe or to manage your account, click here.